Hello world!

Ok this is my very first blog entry…ever. So bear with me!

I’ve been interested in photography for a looooooooong time. I love taking pictures and recently bought myself a Nikon DSLR. It’s my first SLR camera and I’m slowly learning all the bells and whistles. There is so much to learn! I also recently got Photoshop and, just like my camera, it has so much on it that I find something new on it every time I use it.

My husband Jeremey drove me around today so I could take some photos of our “blizzard” and while I was getting some shots he suggested I start a blog to post some of my pictures. I never thought about doing anything like that, but it is a good idea so here I am!

I should let you know, the only photography classes I’ve taken were back in high school. I majored in photography at Ball State (in the art dept) but wouldn’t have been able to take an actual photography class until my second or third year. I transferred to another college and changed my major before that happened…..so here I am. Teaching myself! So this is a big reason why I wanted to do something like this so I could have others (you) give me advice and such. It’s all a big learning process.

I love everything about photography, from finding the right snapshot to editing it on Photoshop. I love looking at others’ photos. My passion is landscapes/outdoors/nature. I would love to start photographing kids, there’s never a bad picture of a child.

So here’s my new blog, I’m open to suggestions and constructive criticism. Thanks for checking it out!

All of my pictures are taken with a Nikon D3100 SLR (unless I use an older photo taken with my point-and-shoot) and edited on Adobe Photoshop Elements 9. Here’s a couple shots from Snowpocolypse 2011:

auto-enhanced brightness and contrast

auto-enhanced colors

3 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. I really enjoy talking to you about photography, Becca! I’ve enjoyed the pictures you’ve put on your facebook page and now I can check out your blog. Keep snapping pics! 🙂

Leave a Reply

